Seeing Beyond

I am quite the voracious reader but in the past few years I have not really read many Christian books other than the bible. Over the Christmas and New Year’s holidays last year, my local Christian bookstore was having a sale, so I bought quite a number of books. The first one I read was by Brian Houston, senior pastor of Hillsong Church, titled “For This I Was Born” and I would like to share some thoughts from the book that spoke to me.

For this I was born

I know that I am supposed to live my life for God but it is so easy to get caught up in the busyness of life and the things of this world. Pastor Brian said that “You are here to exemplify Jesus to the world, and your testimony, conviction and commitment to the cause of Christ is about ushering people into relationship with a God who loves them.” The cause of Christ is salvation – “that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life” and the plan is for the body of Christ (me and you) to achieve this purpose. He also said that “The cause of Christ holds you in its hand, giving each day direction, purpose and an eternal perspective.”

Eternal perspective. Nothing has lasting value in this world that we live in, the only things that we bring with us to eternity are the people who established relationships with God through us. Many days I wake up in the morning and think: “Sigh….another day with my nose to the grind….” but Pastor Brian is saying that “if you allow the Savior’s cause to penetrate your life, it will empower your relationships, your plans for the future, and your connection to the world.” I need to see beyond the current or immediate to the cause of Christ, the people that matters to God to usher them into relationships with God.

He also said that “when the Lord saves you, He has much more than just your eternity in mind. He has called you to make a difference here on earth. 2 Timothy 1:9 tells us that God “has saved us and called us with a holy calling, not according to our works, but according to His own purpose and grace which was given to us in Christ Jesus before time began.” He also said that the word holy calling has caused many to get hung up in trying to discover what is their holy calling but he believes that there are things that the Lord has deposited in our hearts and as we begin to step out in faith, keeping God central in our lives, He will begin to reveal, refine and release us in our holy calling. He encourage us to think of our calling in terms of our gifting, talents and things that we are good at. Our purpose is what we love, what we are passionate about. We should ask ourselves, “Where am I gifted? What are my talents? What comes naturally to me?” That is our calling.

Learning comes naturally to me, I love to learn new things, not necessarily become an expert but the process of learning excites me. My love for learning the word of God was a natural extension of this, as I understood early in my Christian walk that knowledge of the word of God is key to a successful life. Hence, it is my passion for the word of God and the desire to encourage others to a deeper relationship with God that propelled me to set up this blog to share the word of God and the learning resources that have helped and is helping me on this journey.

I hope this has post has encouraged you to see beyond the here and now, to search and understand what is it that you are good at and to step out in faith to do what comes naturally to you.

Please like, comment or share your story with me of how you have used your God given talent to bless others.

* Words in italics are direct quotes from the book “For This I Was Born”.

 

