God Is With Me

In 2015, work demands were very challenging.  I was living in a constant state of stress. New Goods and Services Tax laws were coming into effect which affected businesses in Malaysia. There were a lot of uncertainty on the implementation as guidelines were still being written. I work in a multinational company; and at this same time the corporate office in USA was driving tremendous change to turnaround the group’s performance. Immediate actions were needed on a multitudes of tasks. Colleagues were coming to me daily with issues and challenges and were looking to me to provide direction.  Truly, I did not have the answers!

I have bible verses that sat on my desk which said:

Table verse pic

Philippians 4:6-7 (NIV)

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Joshua 1:9 (NIV)

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

Each time I was alone and overwhelmed by the pressures, I would read these verses and it gave me courage to go on.  I know that God was with me because although I did not have the final answer to the issues, God gave me wisdom each time to give direction to take us a step forward.  This happened daily for many weeks.

Through it all, I was praying to God to give me a way out of the job as I felt tired and discouraged.  There were many times I wanted to give up and walk out but something will always happen to prevent me from taking that step.  It was a terrible cycle, until one day I realised that God was always there to help me resolve the most immediate issue each day and so what did I have to fear!  I felt as if a spiritual stronghold was broken over me at that moment!

Looking back, I understand that it was a lesson that God wanted me to learn – to trust that He is always with me no matter how dark it seems.  Through this experience, 2 verses became real for me.

Deuteronomy 31:6 (NIV)

Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.”

Hebrews 11:1-5 (NKJV)

Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.

Although I cannot see God and where He is taking me on this journey, my knowledge of His love and mercy towards me give me the assurance that He will give me strength to overcome.

Please like, comment or share with me your story of God’s faithfulness, grace and mercy towards you.

